2019-2020 Catalog Vol. 80 
    Jun 13, 2024  
2019-2020 Catalog Vol. 80 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Computer Information Technology, OSA

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs of Study

Award CIP Code 11.0901 | Major Code OCIT

Information Technology Program

The Information Technology Program is designed to prepare students for a career in the area of computer network administration. This multi-exit Program provides students with technical workplace and academic skills as well as critical thinking, problem solving skills, and communication skills.

The Information Technology Administrator will be able to design, construct and manage heterogeneous multi-user wired/wireless computer networks. The administrator will be able to specify computer hardware and software, integrate them, and upgrade network systems; manage and document networked and stand-alone systems; and design, build, and maintain complex database driven websites.

The Microsoft Specialist is a concentration on the latest desktop and server operating system offered by Microsoft. This specialist will be able to select, install, and maintain the current desktop and operating system offered by the Microsoft Corporation, in addition to developing websites and databases, and supporting computer networks. In the same way, the Linux Specialist focuses on the most recent open source desktop and server operating systems not covered by the Microsoft Specialist. The Web Specialist emphasizes the design, development, and maintenance of database driven websites, allowing for the ability to select, install, and maintain current open source web servers.

More information is available online through the Information Technology Program website. Applied Sciences award plans.

Credit within an award in the Information Technology Program may be issued upon successful completion of specific industry certifications - such as those from CompTIA, Microsoft, the Linux Professional Institute, Cisco, Zend and MySQL. The individual must provide acceptable documentation per the Program Coordinator as proof of certification completion. Courses for which credit will be awarded are: ITNW 1325  (Network+), ITSC 1325  (A+), and ITSY 1342  (Security+) for CompTIA certification; ITNW1353 (MCTS 70-680 and MCTS 70-410), ITNW1354 (MCTS 70-411 and MCTS 70-412), and ITNW 2350  (MCTS 70-413 and MCTS 70-414) for Microsoft certification; ITSC 1416  (LPIC 101 and 102) and ITSC 2425  (LPIC 201 and 202) for Linux Professional Institute certification; ITNW 2335  for Cisco Certified Network Associate certification; ITSE 2402  for Zend PHP certification; and ITSE 2409  for MySQL for Database Administrators certification. The number of course credits applied will vary depending on the particular Blinn award pursued, and the courses contained within that award. The maximum number of credits granted will not exceed twenty-one (21) credit hours for the degree or certificates. The student can be concurrently enrolled in six (6) hours, but must complete six (6) hours at Blinn College before requesting credit for experiential learning that is quantified by the successful passing of a state or national, or international certification exam.

Totals: 9 Credit Hours

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs of Study